Which of the Following is Not a Fundamental Unit?

When it comes to understanding the fundamental units of measurement, there are several key concepts that we need to grasp. These units form the foundation of our understanding of the physical world and are crucial in various scientific disciplines. In this article, we will explore the fundamental units of measurement and identify which of the following is not a fundamental unit.

Understanding Fundamental Units

Fundamental units, also known as base units, are the basic building blocks of measurement. They are independent of each other and cannot be derived from any other units. These units are used to measure physical quantities such as length, mass, time, electric current, temperature, amount of substance, and luminous intensity.

There are seven fundamental units in the International System of Units (SI), which is the most widely used system of measurement in the world. These fundamental units are:

  • Meter (m) – for length
  • Kilogram (kg) – for mass
  • Second (s) – for time
  • Ampere (A) – for electric current
  • Kelvin (K) – for temperature
  • Mole (mol) – for amount of substance
  • Candela (cd) – for luminous intensity

Identifying the Non-Fundamental Unit

Now that we have a clear understanding of the fundamental units, let’s examine the options and identify which of the following is not a fundamental unit:

  1. Newton (N) – for force
  2. Ohm (Ω) – for electrical resistance
  3. Pascal (Pa) – for pressure
  4. Watt (W) – for power

Newton (N) – The Unit of Force

The Newton (N) is the unit of force in the SI system. It is named after Sir Isaac Newton, the renowned physicist who formulated the laws of motion. The Newton is defined as the force required to accelerate a one-kilogram mass by one meter per second squared.

For example, when you push a book on a table, you are applying a force to overcome the friction between the book and the table. This force can be measured in Newtons.

Ohm (Ω) – The Unit of Electrical Resistance

The Ohm (Ω) is the unit of electrical resistance. It is named after Georg Simon Ohm, a German physicist who discovered Ohm’s law, which relates current, voltage, and resistance in an electrical circuit. One Ohm is defined as the resistance that allows one Ampere of current to flow when one Volt of potential difference is applied.

For example, when you use a multimeter to measure the resistance of a resistor in an electronic circuit, the value you obtain will be in Ohms.

Pascal (Pa) – The Unit of Pressure

The Pascal (Pa) is the unit of pressure in the SI system. It is named after Blaise Pascal, a French mathematician, physicist, and philosopher. One Pascal is defined as one Newton of force per square meter of area.

For example, atmospheric pressure at sea level is approximately 101,325 Pascals, which is equivalent to the force exerted by the weight of the Earth’s atmosphere on a one-square-meter surface.

Watt (W) – The Unit of Power

The Watt (W) is the unit of power in the SI system. It is named after James Watt, a Scottish inventor and mechanical engineer who made significant contributions to the development of the steam engine. One Watt is defined as one Joule of energy transferred per second.

For example, the power rating of a light bulb indicates how much energy it consumes per second, and it is measured in Watts.


In conclusion, the non-fundamental unit among the options provided is the Newton (N). While the Newton is an essential unit for measuring force, it is derived from the fundamental units of mass, length, and time. On the other hand, the Ohm (Ω), Pascal (Pa), and Watt (W) are all fundamental units in their respective fields of electrical resistance, pressure, and power. Understanding the distinction between fundamental and derived units is crucial for accurate and consistent measurement in various scientific disciplines.


    1. Q: Can fundamental units be combined to form derived units?

A: Yes, derived units are formed by combining fundamental units. For example, the unit of speed is meters per second (m/s), which combines the fundamental units of length and time.

    1. Q: Are there any other systems of measurement apart from the SI system?

A: Yes, there are several other systems of measurement, such as the Imperial system used in the United States and the metric system used in many countries. However, the SI system is the most widely used and internationally recognized system.

    1. Q: Are there any proposed changes to the fundamental units in the future?

A: Yes, there have been discussions and proposals to redefine some of the fundamental units based on more precise and universal constants. For example, the kilogram is currently defined by a physical artifact, but there are plans to redefine it based on the Planck constant.

    1. Q: Can fundamental units be converted into other units?

A: Yes, fundamental units can be converted into other units using conversion factors. For example, one meter is equal to 3.281 feet, and one kilogram is equal to 2.205 pounds.

    1. Q: Are there any fundamental units that are not part of the SI system?

A: While the SI system is the most widely used, there are other systems of measurement that have their own fundamental units. For example, the CGS (centimeter-gram-second) system has different fundamental units for length, mass, and time.

가장 인기 많은

최근 이야기

저자 소개

Raghav Saxena
Raghav Saxena
Raghav Saxеna is a tеch bloggеr and cybеrsеcurity analyst spеcializing in thrеat intеlligеncе and digital forеnsics. With еxpеrtisе in cybеr thrеat analysis and incidеnt rеsponsе, Raghav has contributеd to strеngthеning cybеrsеcurity mеasurеs.

뉴스 팁을 얻었습니까?